An updated password is not saved for all users when you change the password for an all-user network connection in Windows Vista, and you receive the following error message: Error 5: Access is denied

An updated password is not saved for all users when you change the password for an all-user network connection in Windows Vista, and you receive the following error message: Error 5: Access is denied

Article ID : 927831
Last Review : March 15, 2007
Revision : 1.5

SYMPTOMS

Consider the following scenario:

• You use the Windows Vista Get Connected Wizard to connect a Windows Vista-based computer to a destination network.
• The user name and password that is configured in the network connection is saved for all users. For example, when you create the network connection, you click to select the Allow other people to use this connection check box.
• The password for the network connection expires on the destination network.

In this scenario, when you next use this connection to connect to the destination network, you are prompted to change the password as expected. However, when you enter a new password for the network connection, you experience the following symptoms:

• You receive the following error message:

Cannot delete saved password.

Error 5: Access is denied.

• The new password is updated on the destination network. However, the new password is not saved in Windows Vista. Therefore, you must enter the new password again when you try to reconnect to the destination network.

WORKAROUND

To work around this problem, follow these steps:

1. Click StartStart, type network and sharing in the Start Search box, and then click Network and Sharing Center in the Programs list.

User If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type your password or click Continue.

2. In the Tasks pane, click Connect to a network, click the network connection that you want to configure, and then click Connect.
3. In the Connect NetworkName dialog box, click [To change the saved password, click here], and then type the updated password.
4. Click to select the Save this user name and password for the following users check box, click Anyone who uses this computer, and then type an administrator password or click ContinueUser when you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation.
5. Click Connect.

APPLIES TO
• Windows Vista Ultimate
• Windows Vista Enterprise
• Windows Vista Business
• Windows Vista Home Premium
• Windows Vista Home Basic
• Windows Vista Starter
• Windows Vista Enterprise 64-bit edition
• Windows Vista Home Basic 64-bit edition
• Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit edition
• Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit edition

Back to the top

Keywords: 
kbexpertisebeginner kbhardware kbtshoot kbprb KB927831

 

Microsoft Knowledge Base Article

This article contents is Microsoft Copyrighted material.
Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use | Trademarks


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Leave a Reply

*
To prove that you're not a bot, enter this code
Anti-Spam Image